It’s Been A While

I know, I know, I’ve been lazy lately. In my defense, I haven’t been lazy – I’ve been busy. I just finished a semester of 19 credit hours: 15 at my university and 4 more at the local community college. Why would I put myself through this agony, you ask? So I can graduate next semester. And, assuming I don’t fail anything in the spring, I will. I’ve got all the right classes added, and my advisor has checked everything out for me. I won’t get into the gory details of dealing with that one stupid class that I need and they decided not to offer next semester; we’ll just say an hour in an office with two advisors got everything taken care of.

Merry Christmas! Or Happy Whatever-Holiday-You-Celebrate! Have you started thinking of your New Year’s Resolutions yet? Just think, all the stores will have their fitness equipment on sale in the first week of January. That way you can accomplish both your resolution of saving more money and of losing weight! Two birds…

Personally, I’m in the process of learning a few things. (Clearly, I have too much time on my hands. Maybe I should have been blogging.) I realized recently that there is a list (in my head) of things I’d like to learn someday, and if I don’t start on that soon, I’m going to wind up in a real job with no free time and won’t ever get around to them. Because I have so much free time right now…but that’s a different story. My list looks like this:

  • Learn to draw
  • Learn to play the viola
  • Become a good photographer
  • Learn to dance

I’ve started work on the first three. For my birthday, my parents gave me a digital SLR camera, and I immediately fell in love with taking pictures. It got dropped a couple of months later (NOT by me) and has been sent to the manufacturer to get repaired. I hope to have it back in the next few weeks or so. I’d really like to have it back before my snowboarding trip to Colorado the second week of January, but I’m not sure that will happen. Anyway, I took the camera with me this summer when I went to Berlin, and took over 900 pictures. Did I mention I love taking pictures?

I received the book Take Your Photography to the Next Level: From Inspiration to Image for Christmas as well, and have started reading it. A full review will be posted as soon as I finish it. So far, though, it’s been great. This book focuses not on the technical aspects of photography like aperture, shutter speed, ISO, etc., but on the creative aspects, like photo composition, lighting, framing – things like that. I’ve read the first chapter and really like it.

During finals week, I decided to learn to play a new instrument. I decided on the viola for personality reasons (I just don’t have a diva-type personality, so I can’t be a violinist) as well as portability reasons (the cello and upright bass are just too hard to move around). I’m doing ok so far. I can play a D-major scale in one octave, and can play “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” pretty well. I’m just getting started on the G scale, and next is C. And I only screech like a dying cat every once in a while. Progress!

Last night, I decided to buy a book on learning to draw, since I’ve been thinking for a few years that I wish I knew how. I purchased Keys to Drawing and am looking forward to getting started with it. Of course, I’ll probably run out and buy all kinds of pencils and sketchbooks as soon as I get it, but that’s me! Again, review forthcoming.

The last item on my list, “Learn to dance”, may not happen anytime soon. That requires lessons and a teacher, not just a book, which means it has to wait til I have time for lessons and money for a teacher. Maybe I should have gotten around to that goal while I was dating a former dance teacher, but oh well. Moving on…

In the future, I’m considering doing a short series on study skills. This information is available all over the internet, I know, but it might be good to consolidate it all in one place. I’ll have to flesh out some ideas for that concept. I have a few other topics in mind that I’ve been intending to write about, but as I mentioned, life happened. (And I was lazy.) I suppose 19 credit hours and lazy don’t really mix well. Actually, I know they don’t. I’m frankly shocked that I got B’s in two particular classes. More on those stories later, though.

As I said, Merry Christmas, or Happy Holidays, whichever you prefer!

2 Responses to “It’s Been A While”

  1. Michael Henreckson Says:

    You seem to be fairly good at keeping yourself from boredom, which can be a good thing. I like the sound of your goals as well, graduation will be quite beneficial, and possibly enjoyable. Your hobbies will definitely be enjoyable judging from my experience. Especially make sure you dance, and if you pick an energetic type of dance you might find it helps you with everyone’s perpetual New Year’s Resolution, staying in shape. 🙂

  2. Stephanie Bowyer Says:

    I’m looking forward to making progress on the things I want to learn. Of course, the beginning phases mean the viola squeaks at all the wrong moments, my photos look like amateur snapshots, and I still can’t draw a straight line to save my life.

    I just have to keep trying. Someday I’ll be glad I made the effort. And I’ll be really glad I made the effort at 21, rather than waiting the rest of my life.


Comments are closed.

