Financial Advice for College Students

I am a regular reader of the personal finance blog Get Rich Slowly. The blogger, JD, first wrote to consolidate his thoughts on his own battle with debt. That single blog post has turned into an insightful and informative web center for financial advice, with a very active reader base. JD describes his site as such:

You will not find any get rich quickly schemes here. You will not find multi-level marketing fads or hot stock tips here. I am not pitching any product or book. (Yet.)

You will find daily information about personal finance and related topics. I’ll share stories about debt elimination, saving money, and practical investing. I will post occasional reviews of books, magazines, and software. I will scour the web for the latest personal finance tools and articles. I’ll also post news on related topics like simplicity, frugality, and personal development.

I really enjoy reading JD’s posts, but have noticed a trend. JD writes from his current point of view – an adult with a steady, reliable, and adequate source of income. Most of his readers appear to be at that same stage of life. His focus is on eliminating debt, saving, and investing money.

Unfortunately, as a college student, I have found that my own financial situation isn’t nearly that stable, and rarely is it adequate. I was curious if JD or any of his readers would have advice on trying to be financially intelligent when I’m not really making enough to live off to begin with.

So I emailed JD and asked him that question.

He ran my question yesterday as an “Ask The Readers” article, and I am thrilled by the number of responses I received. I was able to come up with a few ideas for how to spend less than I already am, including learning to cook so I eat out less. One major thing these readers reminded me of, though, is that it’s ok to rely on my parents. I’m just not at a stage of life where I’m able to be fully independent yet, and that’s all right.

Thank you, JD, for running my question on your blog. Also, thank you, Get Rich Slowly readers, for your many responses. It is wonderful to be included in such a thoughtful and helpful community.

My hope is that some of these points can benefit other financially-cautious college students, not just me.

Click to view JD’s post, and his readers’ comments.

Posted in Advice. Tags: , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Financial Advice for College Students”

  1. Financial Md » Financial Advice for College Students Says:

    […] Original post by Not Just Surviving […]

  2. fitzage Says:

    Yeah, cooking will save you a veritable shitload of money over eating out, in most cases. Unless you consider “cooking” to be popping open a bag of Doritos.


Comments are closed.

