Don’t Just Survive

How much time does the average American spend in school?  A year in kindergarten, eight years of elementary school, and four years of high school are pretty typical.  If, after graduating high school, this American continues on to college, he or she usually spends four to six years in college.  (Unless you’re Van Wilder.)  All of that adds up to at least 17 years in school.  If you’re going to spend that much time focusing on education, you might as well make the best of it.  High school if for surviving.  College is for living.


I’m not going to tell you that you have to enjoy college.  Not everyone does; that’s simply a fact of life.  If you’re just surviving college, though, maybe it’s time to rethink your methods.  Maybe you’re not the best student, and you’re getting discouraged and frustrated.  Maybe you’re a fantastic student, but you still constantly find yourself pulling all-nighters because you procrastinated until the night before the deadline.  I want to pull together ideas to help students from all sides of the gradebook.

First things first, though.  The University of Arizona, where I am a student, just started Spring Break.  That means that I have a whole week ahead of me to relax and not worry about anything.  If you’re on Spring Break too, get out there and do something fun.  It’ll help your stress levels and clear your head.  If you’re not on Spring Break, I’m sorry.  Feel free to rub my nose in it when you are and I’m not.  However, even if it’s not time for you to have a whole week off, it’s still Friday night.  Go have fun.  Smile, laugh, enjoy yourself.  It’ll help.
Posted in Advice. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Don’t Just Survive”

  1. Heartburn Home Remedy Says:

    After reading this article, I just feel that I really need more info. Can you suggest some more resources ?


Comments are closed.

